EUROPEAN COMMISSION



Brussels, 8.3.2012 C(2012) 1440 final

COMMISSION DECISION

of 8.3.2012

on the appointment of two members and two alternates of the Administrative Board of the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators

EN EN

COMMISSION DECISION

of 8.3.2012

on the appointment of two members and two alternates of the Administrative Board of the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators

THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to Article 12 of Regulation (EC) No 713/2009¹ and in particular paragraph 1 thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) The Administrative Board of the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators shall be composed of nine members and each Member shall have an alternative.
- (2) Two members and their alternates shall be appointed by the Commission, two members and their alternates shall be appointed by the European Parliament and five members and their alternates shall be appointed by the Council.
- (3) The tasks assigned to the Administrative Board in Article 13 of Regulation (EC) No 713/2009 are partially related to the financial supervision of the Agency, partially to its substantive work in the energy sector.
- (4) It is therefore appropriate for the Commission to appoint as members and alternates of the Administrative Board only senior members of staff with either a financial background or experience in the energy sector.
- (5) The Director General of DG ENER and the Deputy Director General of DG ENER dispose of the required background in the energy sector to exercise, respectively, the role of member and of alternate of the Administrative Board.
- (6) The Director (or acting Director) of the Shared Resources Department of DG ENER / MOVE and the head of unit of unit SRD1 responsible for Financial Resources and Coordination of Agencies dispose of the required financial background to exercise, respectively, the role of member and of alternate of the Administrative Board.
- (7) According to Article 12 of Regulation (EC) No 713/2009, the mandates of half of the members and alternates of the Administrative Board end six years after the constituent meeting of the Board which took place on 22 March 2010. This means that the terms of one member and of one alternate end six years from 22 March 2010. To ensure

-

OJ L 211, 14.8.2009, p. 8.

continuity within the Board, the terms of the other member and his/her alternate shall then end already four years from 22 March 2010.

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

The European Commission appoints as members of the Administrative Board:

- the Director General of DG ENER; and
- the Director (or acting Director) of DG ENER/MOVE's Shared Resources Department.

Article 2

- (1) The European Commission appoints as alternate to the Director General of DG ENER:
- the Director (or acting Director) of Directorate B of DG ENER.
- (2) The European Commission appoints as alternate to the Director of DG ENER/MOVE's Shared Resources Department:
- the Head of unit (or acting Head of unit) of Unit SRD1 in ENER/MOVE's Shared Resources Department responsible for Financial Resources and Coordination of Agencies.

Article 3

The terms of the Director General of DG ENER and of his/her alternate, the director of Directorate B of DG ENER, shall end on 22 March 2016. The terms of the Director of DG ENER/MOVE's Shared Resources Department and his/her alternate, the Head of unit of unit SRD1 in ENER/MOVE's Shared Resources Department responsible for Financial Resources and Coordination of Agencies, shall end on 22 March 2014.

Article 4

This Decision is addressed to the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators, Trg republike 3, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia.

Done at Brussels, 8.3.2012

For the Commission Günther OETTINGER Member of the Commission

> CERTIFIED COPY For the Secretary - General

Jordi AYET PUIGARNAU Director of the Registry